Aside

Gamer Girl Talk: You Want Me To Pay What?

Photo Credit: Heavy

I really enjoy PC gaming. It’s where I started gaming many moons ago. I love Steam because I have a record of all of my games bought through them. It’s very convenient. But am I the only one who occasionally looks at the Steam storefront and wonders, you want how much for that?

I’m sorry but where do the costs for some indie games come from? I understand the indie developers don’t have the same pots of money as big production houses have but I want some of them to be reasonable. I’m more than likely going to plunk my money down for an indie game than a big AAA game any day. But some games don’t meet you halfway with game play value and what they’re asking. I know everyone is raving over Gone Home but is it really worth $20+? I’ve reviewed the game and think it does something very unique with its story telling and is one of the games that is changing the definition of what it means to be a game. But at the end of the day, I wouldn’t recommend anyone paying full price if they could help it.  I’d like to think that I’m being sensitive to the plight of the indie developer and not just being cheap. But honestly, who knows? I can honestly say that a game like Waking Mars, which is similarly priced, has more bang for your buck and I wasn’t miffed when it ended.

If money grew on trees, I’d gladly shell out the sometimes inflated costs for an indie game. I think games, like any consumer goods, need to have a healthy balance between the price and what you receive. I am consciously negating the new thing of “Early Access” to games on Steam aka paying full price to be a tester for a game…grrr. And let’s not forget the cost of AAA games, which is another ball of wax all together.

2 thoughts on “Gamer Girl Talk: You Want Me To Pay What?

Leave a Reply

