Aside

Gamer Girl Talk: Are you judging me?

Photo Credit: Mashable

Happy Monday! I hope you saw the out of doors at some point over your weekend. Fresh air is a good thing.

It’s officially a later date, and I wanted to talk about why I feel like being asked “what kind of gamer are you?” is a loaded question. As a female gamer, I tread carefully when I’m being asked this question especially when it’s coming from a male gamer. I’ve learned that over the years there are many a guy who has rolled his eyes or told me that I’m not a gamer because of a particular form of gaming I like to do. Is that hogwash? Certainly it is, but I don’t like feeling less than someone because I thoroughly enjoy cheesy point and click adventure games like Daedalic’s Deponia Series. I do play TPS and FPS games, but like I said last week, I just have to be in the mood for them. I appreciate AAA games, but I prefer independent games. Going over the nuanced nature of how I game is not something I generally talk about with someone I have just met, so experience has taught me to choose my words wisely.

I know I shouldn’t have to prove to anyone that I am indeed a gamer, but I don’t think anyone likes to feel like they’re being negatively judged. So, I’ve learned to tailor my responses to my audience, which I don’t think male gamers feel the need to do.  I know I don’t have to do this either but it saves me a lot of mental/emotional inner turmoil, especially if I just want to share my enjoyment of gaming with someone.

You may think, I think too much but I’m an engineer. I am inquisitive and analytical by nature, even if it is to my detriment. The bottom line is that I can’t change who I am but I can change how I approach situations.

Leave a Reply

