Day 26: 31 Days of Halloween

Photo Credit: Nicole Stephenson

I guess now is the time for lists…

Rolling Stone Magazine felt obliged to give you a list of 13 Horror Films Streaming on Netflix. To my utter amazement, it actually isn’t a terrible list but why did they start it off with V/H/S? Blech!

Here’s the list in the order the films are presented in the article.

  • V/H/S
  • The Evil Dead (1981)
  • Re-Animator
  • The Pact
  • American Mary
  • Satan’s Little Helper
  • Event Horizon
  • Maniac (2012)
  • The Human Centipede
  • Stake Land
  • The Cabin In The Woods
  • The ABCs of Death
  • The Collection

You can find the article here, but now that you see what they’ve come up with let me tell you which films I think you can skip, starting with V/H/S. Don’t get me wrong, V/H/S isn’t the worse thing you could watch but it’s just filled with too many inconsistencies. I’d say if you must watch it, only watch the first and the last stories because they’re pretty good and fast forward through the middle two stories. You’ll thank me. And no, it doesn’t ruin the movie at all because it’s just a film with a collection of stories thrown together. I wouldn’t even call it an anthology.

The list goes on to redeem itself by listing Re-Animator and The Evil Dead.  These are two horror classics that if you haven’t seen them, you should. They are good old fashioned campy horror fun. I feel like most people who enjoy horror will have seen these two films and if you haven’t now you have more movies to add to your Netflix Instant queue.

Onward, I have not seen The Pact so I can’t speak to it, but I can recommend American Mary. It’s brought to you by the Twisted Twins who also created Dead Hooker in a Trunk.

It’s interesting that Satan’s Little Helper is on the List because I think of it as a rather obscure horror film. Personally, I need to be in the right frame of mind to watch and appreciate it. I can’t outright recommend anyone watch Satan’s Little Helper, but if you’ve never seen it give it a whirl. It’s campy low budget horror and definitely not for everyone. I don’t see it becoming a cult classic or anything like that, but it does have a funny line about Jesus being Satan (don’t worry it’s a costume joke).

I couldn’t believe they snuck in Event Horizon over other horror films like Resident Evil that are streaming on Netflix, but I’m not here to argue against the list. It has been a rather long time since I’ve seen this film, probably since it came out in 1997. If you’ve never seen it, I’d say watch it, but not over something like The Cabin in the Woods.

Maniac is an especially creepy remake with an Elijah Wood you’ve never seen like this before, wielding a very large knife. This is an exceptional film with great makeup effects, but it does suffer from being a tad bit slow.So take that with a grain of salt if you sit down to watch it.

I’ve found over the years that most people are afraid of The Human Centipede. When I saw this film for the first time with a group of horror friends, we were all bracing ourselves for the the worst. Truth be told the First Sequence in this trilogy is not graphic at all. I think it’s great because it plays on your imagination. You imagine far worse than the film actually shows or suggests. Seriously, give this movie a shot because Dieter plays an awesome mad scientist. I will warn you that the Second Sequence is far more graphic and just downright disgusting at times, so if you’re a bit squeamish, skip the second film.

Stake Land is a well crafted film it’s just rather heavy and somewhat depressing so be forewarned. And then you have The Cabin in the Woods, which is is at the opposite end of the spectrum, being pure fun. If you’ve never seen it and you love horror films, watch it. (I can’t imagine you enjoying horror and not have seen it? But stranger things have happened.) At a certain point in this film I was cheering; What they do in this film is a horror lovers dream.

The ABC’s of Death, just say no.

Last, but certainly not least is The Collection. It is the sequel to The Collector but fear not, it isn’t compulsory to have seen the first movie to enjoy the second. I was delighted with the original film and was pleasantly surprised by the sequel. If you get a chance, I’d recommend the first film and you get the added bonus of fully understanding how the story got to the second film.

topposters

In my humble opinion, if I could only choose half of the list I’d say watch these first.

  • The Evil Dead
  • Cabin in The Woods
  • The Re-Animator
  • The Human Centipede
  • American Mary

bottomposters

Leave a Reply

