Aside

Gamer Girl Talk: What Kind of Gamer Are You?

Photo Credit: Gaming In Color

I haven’t the faintest idea how many times I’ve been asked this question. I always feel like it’s a very loaded question for reasons I’ll discuss at a later date.

I often wonder why gamers feel the need to catergorize so much in gaming? I admittedly fall into this trap when I’m speaking with other gamers about the type of games I like.  Why? I know it’s more simple to be able to concisely say, I prefer this over that but is that truly ever the case for anyone? I know it isn’t for me. There are a few types of games I tend to steer clear of but that isn’t a hard and fast rule. I game for the experience of various types of entertainment and I don’t every want to totally turn my back on any particular type of game because I didn’t care for the predecessors,

Over the years, I know better than to try to explain my gaming style to others. Personally, I play different games depending on my mood.  If I’m having a particularly crap day and want to let off some steam, I’ll play something like GTA. Nothing is more cathartic than beating the crap out of fictional characters with the added bonus of not actually hurting anyone. Then there are days when I want to really be challenged by the puzzles and/or mini-games that adventure games provide. I can honestly say, the list goes on and on and I don’t like to be pigeon holed by stating the type of gamer I am because I can honestly say, “I like a little bit of it all.” That being said, it’s rare that you’ll find me playing a pure strategy or driving game, but I will not say that I never will play these games.

Leave a Reply

