Day 24: 31 Days of Halloween

Photo Credit: Bloody-Disgusting

Playstation releases its Top 10 Horror Games

Get your credit cards ready because the Playstation Network makes it easier than ever to purchase a game or two. That is if you don’t already own them.

This list was voted on by the Playstation Community so take the results with a grain of salt.

  1. Silent HIll
  2. Bioshock
  3. Deadspace
  4. Resident Evil – Director’s Cut
  5. Resident Evil 4
  6. Fatal Frame
  7. Deadspace 2
  8. The Walking Dead
  9. Deadspace 3
  10. Siren: Blood Curse

I personally didn’t start to question this list until I got to number 5, and I really wrinkled my nose at Deadspace 3, which was more of an action game than a horror game. And although I loved Telltale Game’s: The Walking Dead, I wouldn’t say that it would go on my best horror game list. My engineering brain won’t let this list just be a list. I want to know what horror game meant to the people when they were voting? What were they considering? I feel like there are so many variables that you could use to define what makes a game a “horror game” and what makes it good?

I haven’t played Fatale Frame or Siren: Blood Curse, so I can’t say that I have an opinion on them, but I did just go an add them to my ever growing horror game list.

The most interesting thing about this list is how old horror games still seem to hold up pretty well in terms of games you remember freaking you out. I often wonder what horror games would look like today if we didn’t have predecessors like Silent HIll? I think that as a gaming audience we have become accustomed to certain types of gaming mechanics and designs that built their foundation on the genre games of the past. I’ve thought about this several times and I wonder what it will take to scare gamers again?  I think that the game developers will need to be clever and more subtle with their creations because the grotesque and in your face horror games have lost their luster and have become matter of fact for many.

Leave a Reply

