Day 20: 31 Days of Halloween

I have one word for you today, exhaustion. I am totally and utterly tired. I just finished Geek Girl Con 2013, which was a blast but left me with very little energy to write a long post today.

With that being said, I did get caught up in a query of mine, “eerie sounding instruments.” I have not idea why this seemed to be something I’m curious about but here’s what I found.

For some reason, I find the Hurdy Gurdy can sometimes through me off balance and really create an unsettling mood depending on the song. I do realize that there were toy hurdy gurdy’s that if played slowly were creepy, but they also remind me of a Jack-in-the-Box. Can you honestly say that a Jack-in-the-Box is not some sort of a possessed toy?

I have no idea what the instrument is called but I can definitely see it being used in the background of a scary movie.

I think it’s common knowledge that the piano has done wonders for providing those unsettling feelings that horror films want. I can think of quite a few scary movies that rely mainly on the piano.

I know that they aren’t technically instruments but anytime you throw in some small children singing, laughing, and/or talking it  just creeps me out. Take the theme music form the original 1979 Amityville Horror. *shudder*

Leave a Reply

