Day 19: 31 Days of Halloween

Photo Credit: Flick Facts

Film Suggestion: No One Lives

It really astonishes me how so many people that love horror have neither seen nor heard of No One Lives. Sadly, it is another horror movie that got under sold and was given very little publicity. I just can’t imagine why a film with my favorite horror  scene this year was hardly promoted? It seems like they were setting this film up for failure from the start and it pisses me off.  Hollywood sometimes baffles me because they will promote a rather crappy horror film until the cows come home, but something that horror fans could really enjoy they barely mention. I know it’s politics but it doesn’t mean that I can’t be a bit miffed.

If you’ve never heard of this film or missed it when it was released here’s why; No One Lives only opened in 60 theatres nationwide for about a week. This film was just all around clumsily handled and because of its treatment, I fear I will never see a sequel. Wait. Let me rephrase; I will never get to see a quality sequel.

It makes me sad that there are so few original and truly adult horror films. This decade feels like the era of PG-13 and low risk horror.  We are in the land of money first and foremost, which I completely understand but I don’t think it should be at the expense of the craft of storytelling in movies.

Okay, I’m off my soap box. Bottom line, if you enjoy horror check this film out.

Leave a Reply

