Day 15: 31 Days of Halloween

Photo Credit: MyReaxns

Warning some photos may be a trigger if you have any of the below phobias.

Today we’re going to take a look at Phobias*. Why Phobias? That’s simple because most horror, haunted houses, or  scary things often play on your personal phobias.

Photo Credit: Fear Of Stuff

I find it interesting that there isn’t a fear of clowns isn’t on this list.

Fear of Clowns: Coulrophobia

Photo Credit: Body Odd NBC News

Below are a few Phobias that come to mind:

Fear of Darkness: Achluophobia

Photo Credit: Real Magick

Fear of Germs: Spermatophobia or Spermophobia

Photo Credit: Align Life

Fear of Fire: Pyrophobia

Phot Credit: Worth 1000

Fear of Dogs: Cynophobia

Photo Credit: Ruff Lover Rescue

Fear of the Color Red: Erythrophobia

Photo Credit: Let Them Have Polish

Fear of Technology: Technophobia

Credit Photo: Agility CMS

Fear of Blood: Hemophobia or Hemaphobia or Hematophobia

Photo Credit: Buzzle

Fear of Water: Hydrophobia & Fear of Running Water: Potamophobia

Photo Credit: Newsolio

Fear of Flying: Aviophobia or Aviatophobia

Photo Credit: Lion’s Whiskers

Fear of Washing/Bathing: Ablutophobia

Photo Credit: Masoory Asir

On a more personal note: I would say I have a fear of those old creepy vintage dolls but it’s not an extreme fear. I can be around them but I just don’t want to own them.

Fear of Dolls: Pediophobia

Photo Credit: Etsy

I do have a weird fear of Terry Cloth Bathrobes, mainly because most people I know never seem to wash those things and well that’s just gross. I’m not a germaphobe but ratty tatty terry cloth robes that haven’t seen soap and water for years makes my skin crawl. That’s not an actual phobia, I don’t think but it still freaks me out.

I don’t intend this post to make light of people with phobias because I know they can be immobilizing and technology is trying to help people face their fears as seen by this article, Making Treatment of Phobias a (Virtual) Reality.

If you want a rather long list of phobias and what they’re called check out The Phobia List.

Leave a Reply

