Day 5: 31 Days of Halloween

The Simpsons: Treehouse of Horror

This has always been my favorite part of The Simpsons season, besides the ever changing opening credits. I will admit that it’s been many years since I’ve regularly watched the show but I still make it a point to see this episode. Let’s be honest, it wouldn’t be Halloween without it anymore. This year I’m a little shocked that it is so early this year? By the way, it’s tomorrow Oct 6th, so don’t forget to set your DVRs.

I can scarcely believe that tomorrow’s Treehouse episode will be number 24, wowsers! It’s getting old along with myself. I can remember when the show first started airing, that many years ago and it was considered very controversial. My parents let me watch it because they didn’t believe in censorship and yes they were hippies. And when I mean hippies, I don’t just mean the sit around and smoke pot hippies, even though they did a lot of that. They were also the organize sit-ins and shut down university types, in addition to being artists and informal educators. My parents believed in sharing knowledge and I can say our household was like a revolving door. A lot of people thought it was odd that I had no bed time, but I wasn’t raised by the television either. My father would do things like sneak me into horror movies as a kid. Yes, I was the kid in the balcony with her father laughing hysterically at the fake blood and such things. I love him for doing that and must thank him for my truly twisted mind. I’m pretty sure my folks would be jailed, fined or reported to child services for their parenting techniques now-a-days. All and all, I don’t think I turned out too bad considering I went to an Ivy League school for undergrad, worked for the federal government for almost a decade and I’m on way to getting a PhD in engineering. But I digress…

This year Guillermo Del Toro has done the opening scene, Enjoy!

PS Anyone have a favorite season/opening credits/story from Treehouse of Horror?

One thought on “Day 5: 31 Days of Halloween

  1. Pingback: Reading Digest: Old Time Treehouse of Horror Edition | Dead Homer Society

Leave a Reply

